Order of the Visitation of Holy Mary

The Order of the Visitation was founded in Annecy, France in 1610 by St Francis de Sales and St Jane Frances de Chantal. The plan was to give to God “daughters of prayer, souls so interior as to be found worthy to adore His infinite Majesty in spirit and in truth.” The sisters honor the Virgin Mary in the mystery of her Visitation sharing “in the freedom of her response, in the wonder of her praise, in her zeal for the world’s salvation.” The monasteries of the First Federation live the purely contemplative life, observing papal enclosure. The sisters serve the Church by a life of prayer and sacrifice hidden in Christ. Through their sister, Saint Margaret Mary, Visitandines have received the mission to make know and loved the Sacred Heart of Jesus. In a letter to St Jane de Chantal, St Francis de Sales wrote: “Our little Congregation is really the work of the hearts of Jesus and Mary. Our dying Savior gave birth to us from the wound in His Sacred Heart.”  Of the eleven monasteries of the Visitation in the United States, six belong to the First Federation.

Mobile, AL                          www.visitationmonasterymobile.org

Philadelphia, PA               www.visitationuns.org

Rockville, VA                      www.visitmontemaria.com

Snellville, GA                      http://db.religiouslife.com/reg_life/irl.nsf/org/36

Toledo, OH                         www.toledovisitation.org

Tyringham, MA                 www.vistyr.org